• 15-NOV-2016

  • Las Vegas

Rossi Ralenkotter Appointed Chair of National Advisory Committee on Travel and Tourism Infrastructure

LAS VEGAS – Rossi Ralenkotter, President/CEO of the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA) has been named chair of the National Advisory Committee on Travel and Tourism Infrastructure (NACTTI) by Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx.

“It is an honor to serve as chair and an inaugural member of this prestigious national committee,” Ralenkotter said.  “Tourism is reliant on safe and efficient transportation infrastructure, so our industry leaders are excited to have a role in providing our insight to the Department of Transportation and transportation agencies across the country. The travel industry has a tremendous impact on the economy and helps support hundreds of thousands of jobs nationwide. I look forward to working with fellow committee members and promoting the importance of the travel and tourism industry.”

In December 2015, President Obama signed the Fixing America’s Surface Transportation (FAST) Act, which provides long-term surface transportation funding. The FAST Act facilitated the creation of the NACTTI to provide information, advice, and recommendations to develop a national strategy for ensuring U.S. transportation policies align with the needs of travelers. NACTTI is comprised of 25 members appointed by U.S. Department of Transportation Secretary, Anthony Foxx, to serve a two‑year term.

The development of NACTTI is critical to the advancement of the travel industry in the U.S. and worldwide. Ralenkotter will be responsible for guiding the group of industry stakeholders as they navigate issues related to the transportation, travel, and tourism industries.

"Having the voice of travel leaders at the table will enable the country to better craft its infrastructure priorities for maximum benefit to both the economy and travelers," said U.S. Travel Association President and CEO Roger Dow. "Congratulations to Rossi and the 12 additional U.S. Travel Association members who have been appointed to the NACTTI. Our organization looks forward to continually working with government leaders to keep travelers moving."

Ralenkotter, who was nominated for the post by the U.S. Travel Association, joins 24 other travel and tourism professionals on the inaugural committee. Additional NACTTI inaugural members include:
  • Vice Chair: The Honorable Mark Begich, President & CEO, Northern Compass Group, LLC
  • Ms. Rosemarie Andolino, President & CEO, MAG USA
  • Mr. Todd Davidson, Chief Executive Officer, Travel Oregon
  • Mr. Brad Dean, President & CEO, Myrtle Beach Area Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr. James Dubea, Deputy Executive Director, Canaveral Port Authority
  • The Honorable Buddy Dyer, Mayor, City of Orlando
  • Ms. Camille Ferguson, Executive Director, American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association
  • Mr. Sean Fitzgerald, Vice President, Enterprise Holdings, Inc.
  • Mr. Ford Fuchigami, Director, Hawaii Department of Transportation
  • Ms. Gladys Gillis, Chief Executive Officer, Transportation Demand Management, Inc.
  • Mr. Bryan Grimaldi, Chief Operating Officer & General Counsel, NYC & Company, Inc.
  • The Honorable Mitchell Landrieu, Mayor, City of New Orleans
  • Ms. Valarie Long, International Executive Vice President, Service Employees International Union
  • Mr. Joseph Lopano, Chief Executive Officer, Tampa International Airport
  • Mr. Jim Mathews, President & CEO, National Association of Railroad Passengers
  • Mr. Sean Menke, Exectutive Vice President, Sabre
  • Mr. Peter Pantuso, President & CEO, American Bus Association
  • Ms. Sharon Pinkerton, Senior Vice President, Airlines for America
  • Mr. John Potter, President and CEO, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority
  • Ms. Cathy Ritter, Director, Colorado Tourism Office
  • Mr. Jim Sayer, Executive Director, Adventure Cycling Association
  • Ms. Anne Taber Klenke, Tourism Director, Lake Charles/Southwest Louisiana Convention &  Visitors Bureau
  • Ms. Diana Threadgill, President & Executive Director, Mississippi River Corridor - Tennessee
  • Mr. Charles Zelle, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Ralenkotter has worked in the travel and tourism industry for more than 40 years and served as a technical advisory committee member of Nevada Governor Brian Sandoval’s Southern Nevada Tourism Infrastructure Committee.  He also serves on the Board of Directors for Brand USA.  Ralenkotter is a former chairman of the U.S. Travel Association and has served as a delegate to the White House Conference on Tourism and as Chair of the Travel and Tourism Advisory Board for the U.S. Department of Commerce where he remains on the board.  He is also a member of several travel related organizations including the American Society of Travel Agents, Destination Marketing Association International (DMAI), the American Society of Association Executives and the Hotel Sales Marketing Association.

For additional details about upcoming initiatives, visit https://www.transportation.gov/NACTTI